Emma Herriott

Emma Herriott

Ocean Grove, Dunedin

Hi!  My name is Emma.  I live with my partner, Dean, and our three boys (Kaden, Dekan and Corben) in Tomahawk, Ocean Grove.

After recently welcoming our youngest son to our family, I found myself looking for employment where my two youngest boys could feel included.  I love working with children and Wild Things was my first choice in home-based care.  I am very excited and happy to now be a member of the Wild Things crew!

Our home in Tomahawk is situated between the beach and the Tomahawk Lagoon.  We offer a rural outlook where we are regularly visited by curious swans, ducks, pukekos, and their chicks, who wander freely in our back yard.  So children get to interact with wildlife in their natural environment.  Feeding and watching birds from our lounge ranch-slider is a regular and fun activity.

We provide a safe, stimulating and enjoyable indoor/outdoor environment for children.  I love being outdoors, incorporating nature into our day, and seeing children thrive in the fresh air.  Visits to the nearby beach are always a popular outdoor activity.  Wild Things excursions and playgroup visits are also an exciting part of our curriculum.

At our home we also provide an array of resources for children to challenge, experiment and play with.  My mother and sister are also Wild Things educators, so as well as being part of a close family support group, we also exchange resources on a regular basis.  So our children are presented with new challenges and resources to play with quite frequently.

If you would like to call in for a visit and a chat, please feel free, I look forward to meeting with you!